NACE Logo NACE Center Logo
National Association of Colleges and Employers NACE Center for Career Development and Talent Acquisition
mobile menu
  • NACE Awards Program

    NACE will be accepting award submissions beginning in mid-November, 2017, through January 31, 2018. Finalists for NACE Awards will be notified in the spring, and winners will be announced during the NACE 2018 Conference & Expo in June in New Orleans.

    2017 Award Winners

    View Winners

    NACE Awards provide honors and recognition for yourself, your staff, and your organization through acknowledgment at the NACE Conference and in NACE publications.

    The NACE Awards honor members' outstanding achievements in the career services and HR/staffing professions. Excellence Awards are judged on program needs/objectives, content, design, creativity, innovation, measurable outcomes and ease of replication in the following categories:

    For organizations

    Career Services Excellence Award—Awarded for excellence in career services best practices providing guidance, service, and resources to students. (One award for small (<5,000) college and one for large (≥5,000) college.)

    Recruiting Excellence Award—Recognizes excellence in recruiting best practices, including any/all of the following: attracting talent, selection process, training and development of new hires, and retention. (One award for small (<5,000) employers and one for large (≥5,000) employers.)

    Diversity and Inclusion Excellence Award—Acknowledges excellence in best practices in nurturing and advancing diversity and inclusion. (One award for career services and one for employers.)

    Technology Excellence Award—Awarded for excellence in best practices using technology and/or social media outlets. (One award for career services and one for employers.)

    NACE/Chevron Award ($1,000 provided by Chevron)—Recognizes outstanding achievement for innovative programs in the college career services field.

    For individuals

    Career Services Champion Award—Awarded to one college or university president from an accredited institution of higher education who has demonstrated two or more of the following:

    • Motivated a program or campus to embrace career services/education and provided the support to make it successful.
    • Supported career-related programming and internships targeted at expanding the participation of students from all economic backgrounds.
    • Supported the establishment of career-readiness programming.
    • Demonstrated forward-thinking or risk-taking leadership in support of career services/education.
    • Supports career services/education beyond his/her own institution.
    • The nominee’s institution must employ current NACE members.

    Members' Choice Award—Awarded to an individual who addressed a challenge, problem, or issue facing our profession with an innovative change or improvement. (For either a career services or employer member.)

    Mentor of the Year Award—Recognizes an individual who has selflessly demonstrated leadership and the ability to serve as a quality mentor to one or more individuals. (One award for either a career services or employer member.)

    NACE/DirectEmployers Catalyst Award ($1,500 provided by DE)—Recognizes an individual who demonstrates excellence in competencies in university relations and recruiting while precipitating positive change and inspiring enthusiasm and energy in their organization and in our profession. (One award for an employer member.) Previous Winners

    NACE/DirectEmployers Catalyst Award

    2017 Winner
    Tabatha Cates-Powell, Enterprise Holdings

    2016 Winner
    Maura Quinn, Liberty Mutual Insurance Company

    2015 Winner
    Jill Miller, Novo Nordisk Inc.

    NACE/Spelman Johnson Rising Star Award ($1,500 provided by Spelman Johnson)—Awarded to an individual with four to seven years of experience who has demonstrated strong leadership potential and contributions to the career services profession and the NACE organization. (For a career services member.) Previous Winners

    NACE/Spelman Johnson Rising Star Award Winners

    2017 Winner
    Laurence Jackson III, Northwestern University

    2016 Winner
    Samantha Haimes, Middlebury College

    2015 Winner
    Kevin Grubb, Villanova University

    2014 Winner
    Chaim Shapiro, Touro College

    2013 Winner
    Christine Cruzvergara, George Mason University

    2012 Winner
    William Alfred Jones, Jr., University of Maryland – College Park

    2011 Winner
    Heather Maietta, Nichols College

    2010 Winner
    Lauren Pasquarella Daley, University of Florida Career Resource Center

    2009 Winner
    Farouk Dey, Stanford University

    2008 Winner
    Ignacio Gallardo, University of California-Santa Barbara

    The Kauffman Award—Acknowledges the accomplishments and contributions of Warren E. Kauffman, who served the association for more than 30 years. The recipient is recognized for making a tangible contribution to NACE that significantly improved the association. (For career services and employer members, or other individuals who have served the profession.)

    Academy of Fellows—Recognizes individual(s) who have contributed to the profession through the advancement of knowledge, leadership, or excellence in professional practice. (For career services and employer members, or other individuals who have served the profession.)


    All current NACE members are eligible to submit for an award.

    To ensure the integrity of the NACE Awards Program, Honors and Awards Committee members abstain from submitting for an award on behalf of their organization and withdraw from the ranking and voting process in any category in which an award entry is received from their respective organization. Those serving on the NACE Board of Directors also abstain from submitting award entries on behalf of their respective organizations.


    Please contact Cecelia Nader at NACE,